Pimp My Conference! New Ways to Learn, Connect, and Enjoy Conferences With Technology @SFI10

On June 1st, I will be presenting a new workshop to the Summer Faculty Institute‘s attendees tentatively titled “Pimp My Conference! New Ways to Learn, Connect, and Enjoy Conferences With Technology.” I have found over the last couple of years, and especially since I got my smartphone back in November, that there are many ways to use technology to keep track of the main lessons learned, share knowledge nuggets, and make new professional contacts during conferences.

Conferences are the way people in academia get in touch with colleagues sharing the same interests, so they also have a huge social media connection potential. I have noticed that people who are active on social media during conferences tend to be more noticeable and attract more backchannel and follow-up discussions of interest.

I will use this blog post as a gateway to the different topics covered during the session. I will update it frequently with new stuff.

So far, here are some topics and tools I want to share with my mostly-UD faculty audience:

Previous Posts About Conference Logistics:

Tools:

  • Twitter
  • Foursquare
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
  • Slideshare
  • Audioboo
  • Evernote
  • Facebook
  • Social bookmarking
  • Contact sharing: Bump
  • URL shorteners
  • QR codes

Purposes:

  • Note taking
  • Sharing on site, afterward with colleagues
  • Networking/Sociality
  • Stimulating F2F discussion
  • Collaboration
  • Archive
  • Scheduling

Other Random Topics:

  • Importance of tagging
  • Smart mobile devices
  • Gateway page
  • Crowdsourcing

The Summer Faculty Institute will be Ustreamed and recorded, so you are welcome to join remotely at any time, but UD faculty should definitely register to attend in person.

I need your help!

Please leave your thoughts on what is the most useful technique or technology to gain full advantage of conferences. And also, what are some of the on-site requirements that are must-haves to really enjoy it? Leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Pimp My Conference! New Ways to Learn, Connect, and Enjoy Conferences With Technology @SFI10

  1. I like your starter lists and I think the “learn it by using it” approach will be a good way to connect with faculty throughout the event. As far as narrowing the tools list, I would put a vote in for promoting Evernote. Of course, it works as a personal productivity tool by eliminating scraps of paper and many faculty would appreciate it for that alone (especially when they find it seamlessly synced to all their devices). But, in the context of a conference list this, I think Evernote adds the element of reflection to sharing ideas. Someone who isn’t ready to send spur-of-the-moment tweets, might be more willing to look over the day’s Evernotes and share their best idea from the day as a blog entry, video sound bite, or through some other vehicle.

Leave a Reply

